International awards

Home International awards

In recognition of my scientific and clinical achievements, I have been awarded several international awards by prestigious academic Institutions and Scientific Societies. Within the most relevant are:

2018 Election to the position of Foreign Member, Académie Royale de Médecine de Belgique

The Académie Royale de Médecine de Belgique, founded by the Belgian King Leopold I in 1841, is one of the most ancient and prestigious academic Institutions in the World. The mission of the Academy is to provide advice to health politics and to foster the advancement of medicine and surgery through the interaction of scientists. The Academy elects a restricted number of foreign members selected through comparative analysis of their scientific CV based on extremely high standards. The position of Academician is Ad Eundem (for life).


2014 International Award “Arnaldo Bruno” for Gynecology, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei

Prestigious international award given for high scientific and clinical achievements from the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and presented by the President of the Italian Republic. The Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, founded in 1603, is the most ancient Scientific Society in the World and counts among its first members Galileo Galilei. The Accademia dei Lincei confers this award for Gynecology through an international selection of candidates, and the award is given to recognize the achievements of the whole scientific and clinical career, in recognition of exceptionally relevant contributions to the advancement of knowledge in the area of woman’s health.

2014 Election to Academician, International Academy of Human Reproduction

The International Academy of Human Reproduction is an international Academic Institution composed by a selected group of scientists. The election to Academician of the IAHR is made by the members based on a selection of individuals that have exceptional merits in Science and clinical practice. The IAHR is dedicated to the advancement of Science and clinical knowledge in all the areas of woman’s health and human reproduction. The election to IAHR Academician is a life-long position and is one of the foremost scientific and professional honors for a physician dedicated to clinical and experimental research on woman’s health.

2007 International Award “Alice and Albert Netter”, The European Society of Gynecology

The main international honor provided by the European Society of Gynecology, given for high scientific and clinical merits to the best european gynecologist based on a highly competitive international competition.

2007 New Investigator Award, The North American Menopause Society

Prestigious international scientific award given by the North American Menopause Society to the best young scientist in the field of menopause.

2005 Merck Senior Fellows Award, The Endocrine Society

Prestigious international award given for particularly relevant scientific achievements to a young investigator.

2005 Robert B. Greenblatt Award, The International Menopause Society

Prestigious international award provided by the International Menopause Society to the clinician who, during the previous three years, has contributed the most relevant scientific and clinical advancements in the field of woman’s health.